Student Government

The Student Government Association (SGA) is an actively functioning body of students representing the full-time undergraduate and graduate student populations. SGA promotes an attitude of responsible self-governance through its Constitution and Bylaws. By representing students and coordinating social functions, SGA provides an opportunity for all students to become actively involved in the governance of the College. This involvement promotes the general welfare by developing community and opening channels of communication.

SGA acts as liaison, mediator, and communicator between students and the administration. As outlined in its constitution, SGA is organized into three branches: the Executive, the Legislative, and the Judicial. Through its Senate and Executive Committees, student proposals are brought to the Vice President for Student Affairs/Dean of Students, the President of the College, and the Board of Trustees. Both the Student Senate and the Executive Council are in constant contact with the Vice President for Student Affairs/Dean of Students, who acts as the advisor to SGA.

The Judicial Branch, made up of five voting members, hears cases related to impeachment of SGA officers and senators, as well as hears cases of students accused of violating the Student Code of Conduct, and hears appeals to sanctions imposed upon students following hearings.

SGA meetings are open to all students. All student-representatives are encouraged to keep members informed and to participate in its functions.