The Page Cannot Be Found
New Science Advisory Committee Established at College of Mount Saint Vincent
Sets an Aggressive Agenda to Upgrade and Improve Scientific Resources on Campus
11/17/2009 - The College of Mount Saint Vincent has established a Science Advisory Committee consisting of a group of alumnae/i and friends who are renowned medical researchers and leaders from within the business and science communities.

Their mission is to provide guidance and recommendations on the measures required to complete extensive upgrades to the Science Building – to meet the needs of the College’s outstanding curricular programs and to support state-of-the-art technology. Efforts will also focus on helping to prepare students for the remarkable advances occurring across all disciplines of science, including biology, chemistry, microbiology and environmental research. 

The Science Advisory Committee includes internationally recognized medical researchers from prominent universities, research institutions and non-profit institutes as well as esteemed Mount alums recognized as leaders in business and in the sciences. Charles L. Flynn, Jr., President of the College formed the Committee at the suggestion of Dr. Owen O’Connor, Chief, Medical Oncology, New York University Cancer Institute to address these important needs.

The Committee will also assist in establishing lecture series, mentoring opportunities and student internships in scientific settings.  They will promote committee initiatives and progress, and take a leadership role in helping to identify, engage and broaden the network of donors to support the sciences at the College of Mount Saint Vincent.

Owen A. O'Connor, M.D., Ph.D. will Chair the Science Advisory Committee.  Dr. O’Connor is Professor of Medicine and Pharmacology, Deputy Director for Clinical Research and Cancer Treatment at New York University Cancer Institute.  He is Chief of the Division of Hematological Malignancies and Medical Oncology.  The Committee will be Co-Chaired by Mark Soloski, Ph.D., Professor of Medicine, Molecular Biology and Genetics, Pathology, Molecular Microbiology and Immunology.  Dr. Soloski is the Director Immunology Training Program Johns Hopkins School of Medicine, MD.

The first meeting for the College’s Science Advisory Committee will be held on Tuesday, November17, at 3:30 p.m. in the third floor biology lab of the Science Building (room 304).

The Mount’s student population, reflecting its metropolitan location, is culturally diverse, drawing most of its students from the larger New York metropolitan area. The College has been federally designated both an Hispanic Serving Institution and a Minority Serving Institution, with 30% of its full-time undergraduates of Hispanic/Latino descent,  9% African-American and 10% Asian/Pacific Islander.  Said President Flynn, “The Committee will help the College achieve goals we never thought possible, accept new challenges in an environment that at best can be considered uncertain, and lends credibility to our institution’s mission.”

College of Mount Saint Vincent Science Advisory Committee Members

Owen A. O'Connor, M.D., Ph.D., Chair, Science Advisory Committee
Professor of Medicine and Pharmacology
Deputy Director for Clinical Research and Cancer Treatment
New York University Cancer Institute
Chief, Division of Hematological Malignancies and Medical Oncology

Mark Soloski, Ph.D. , Co-Chair, Science Advisory Committee
Professor of Medicine, Molecular Biology and Genetics
Pathology, Molecular Microbiology and Immunology
Director Immunology Training Program
Johns Hopkins School of Medicine, MD

Eileen Chusid, Ph.D.’62
Director of Institutional Research
Dean of Pre-Clinical Science
NY College of Podiatry

Gail Civille’65
Sensory Spectrum Inc.

Susan Cullen, Ph.D. ’65
Director, IP Consulting
Thomson Reuters
St. Louis, MO
Ann L.Gisolfi, Esq.’70
Senior Counsel, Jones Day
Joanne Guerriero, P.E.’78
Project Manager
Malcolm Pirnie, White Plains, NY

Matthew Arduino, M.S., Dr. P.H.’79
Acting Chief, Clinical & Environmental Branch
Division of Health and Quality Promotion
Center for Disease Control & Prevention

Marilyn Loh Collado, M.D. ’82
Senior Partner, Women Caring for Women
Chair, OB/GYN
Riverside Medical Center, NJ

Virginia A. Livolsi, M.D. ’65
Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania

Rocco Marotta, M.D., Ph.D.
Medical Staff
Silver Hill Hospital, CT

Catherine Mazzola, M.D.’90
Director of Pediatric Neurosurgery
Center for Pediatric Neurosurgery
Morristown, NJ

James C. Melillo, DDS ’99
Attending Physician.
Montefiore Medical Center
Private Practice - Yonkers, NY

Paula Moynahan, M.D.’62
Plastic Surgeon
Founder and Director
Institute of Aesthetic Medicine and Surgery, NY

Bonnie Smith, M.S., N.P. ’82
Cardiac Thoracic Department
St. Barnabas Hospital, NJ

Sr. Kathleen Tracey, Ph.D.’48
Executive Vice President, Institutional Advancement
Former Chair, Department of Science
College of Mount Saint Vincent

Raymond Walker, Ph.D.
Environmental Consultant
Maser Consulting  P.A.

Stephen Young, Ph.D., Ed.D.
Curriculum and Instruction K-12
Blind Brook Public Schools, Rye, NY

Joanne Zurlo, Ph.D.’74
Institute for Laboratory Animal Research
The National Academies
Washington, DC